The other half of that lunch I promised…

IMG_6933

Crema de cepa de apion

“Creole celery root cream soup”

First off if your wondering where I got this idea, it came to me after searching ‘celery root’ on pinterest.. It looked good on there so I decided to make it for my lunch as I had some left over celery root hanging out in my fridge just waiting to be eaten 😉

After reading up on it I discovered that this soup was described as a typical delicacy of Constanza a scenic highland region in the center of the Dominican Republic…. Cepa de apio is said to have excellent nutritional value, medicianal qualities and a very high source of calcium! Sounds good to me!!

Ingredients

  • Olive Oil
  • 1 med onion chopped
  • 2-3 celery stalks chopped
  • 2 small carrots sliced and diced
  • 3 med potatos peeled cubed
  • 1 celery root peeled and sliced (I used the left over mashed from the night before worked awesome)
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt and pepper
  • 8 cups of vegetable stock (chicken also works)

Instructions

  1. Heat the oil in the pan med-low heat
  2. When oil is hot, add onions fry until soft
  3. Add cumin powder and bay leaf
  4. Add celery and a couple of minutes later add your carrots, celery root and potatos (keep on very low heat)
  5. Cover the pan and sweat for several minutes, stirring occassionally to prevent sticking or burning
  6. Add vegetable stock & simmer until veggies are cooked. Leave to cool
  7. Once cool blend the soup and season to taste, adjust by adding water if necessary
  8. reheat and serve, fennel also makes a nice garnish for this soup if you have some
  9. Also if you like heat, adding cayanne to this soup is so good!!

sushi&soup 018

“El producto final”

The finished product in Spanish!!

Thats it for today, hope you enjoyed!!

Again any suggestions or ideas for dishes you would like to see me make please feel free to comment on the blog or you can join me on my face book page @

https://www.facebook.com/SchoonerpixiesKitchen

You can also email me at schoonerpixie@hotmail.com

Until next time, Enjoy & Happy Cooking!!