DanDan Dumplings… yeah baby yeah!!!

chopsticks3a

“Homemade DanDan Dumplings with Dipping Sauce”

 

    First of I have to give all the credit to my husband for this idea, his idea I just went ahead and made them.. And I would say that by far these are one of the best and most delicious appetizers I have ever made!! Of course the DanDan noodles which I have already blogged about https://schoonerpixieskitchen.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/holy-dan-dan-noodles/. Right now they are our favorite Asian dish, and have served them to friends and family so when John came up with the idea I knew they were going to be amazing, I just didnt know how amazing. … Well let me tell you… how to make them 😉

Dumpling Dipping Sauce

This should be made at least an hour before as you want to combine all the flavours together before eating.

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons black rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon hot chili oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon granulated sugar, or to taste
  • 1 clove garlic, grated with a microplane
  • 1 teaspoon ginger grated with microplane (Tip: put your ginger in the freezer to keep fresh and make it easier to grate)

Combine in small bowl and let sit!

dandan dumplings 024

The Pork Mix the filling

  • 1/2 lbs  ground pork or beef
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter and 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic (about 2 cloves)
  • 1 teaspoon minced ginger (I freeze mine then use a micro planer to grate it)
  • 1 package of Sichuan preserved vegetables
  • 1 tablespoon Chinese rice wine or dry sherry
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, or salt to taste
  • 1  handful dry-roasted peanuts crushed

First in a med size frying pan on med heat add your heaping tbsp of peanut butter and oil. Let warm and melt.

dandan dumplings 001

Remove from heat then add your meat, don’t cook the meat, as you want your filling to be raw!

dandan dumplings 002

 

dandan dumplings 003

DanDan 006

dandan dumplings 004

dandan dumplings 005

 

Laying your wonton wapper from corner to corner, diamond shaped, add a heaping 1/2 tsp of your filling, take your finger and dip into water bowl covering all edges of the wrapper with water, this helps to seal the wrapper in the cooking process.

dandan dumplings 012

Grab the top and bottom tips and squeeze them together.

dandan dumplings 014

 Then take the left side in by folding the wrapper in mutiple times towards the middle corner.

dandan dumplings 015

 Now it’s time to cook the dumplings, in a large frying pan set at 6 warm with a splash of Extra Virgin Olive Oile. When you can smell the oil lightly add the Dumplings to the pan, let fry for a couple of minutes until you notice the bottoms starting to turn golden.

dandan dumplings 021

I dont have a cover for this pan so we used a pizza pan!

dandan dumplings 022

Let them steam for 5 minutes and check. They should look like this

dandan dumplings 023

Continue steaming until the water dissolves, remove cover and let fry until the bottoms are completely golden.

dandan dumplings 025

When golden remove from heat, plate with dipping sauce and chopsticks and get ready to fall in love……

dandan dumplings 028

 I hope you all enjoyed this blog as much as I know you are going to enjoy eating these delicious little morsels!!

Any ideas on what I should cook next or comments please feel free to email me at schoonerpixie@hotmail.com

You can also join me on facebook at  https://www.facebook.com/#!/SchoonerpixiesKitchen.

To be honest I don’t know what is on the menu next but there are a few ideas floating around, one of them being homemade donairs with donair meat made with ground turkey…. Tonight my plan is to cook a new dish for supper so when I figure out what that is I will be sure to share it with you all next time.

Until next time Happy Cooking & Enjoy!!

1 Comment

  1. Christina said,

    January 24, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    These are the best dumplings I have ever had! And they were so easy to prepepare! A must try for dumpling lovers


Leave a comment