For the pasta lover looking to stay healthy, Spaghetti Squash Cassarole !!!

IMG_1829

Hey there everyone, sorry I haven’t been blogging for awhile.. I lost my mojo not for cooking but maybe a little for blogging! I have been back to working out and eating healthy and successfully knocking off the pounds with some good low carb recipes.  All recipes that I am wanting to share with you.. This dish Spaghetti Squash I am going to show you next, was great dish and turned out delicious! My husband is a huge pasta  fan and this was a definite winner and replacement for your typical pasta dish.

Spaghetti Squash Casserole

You will need:

 

– 1 med-large sized spaghetti squash

– 1  small red pepper chopped

– 1 med sized onion

– 3 cloves of chopped garlic

– 1/2 tsp chili flakes

– 1 can of diced tomatos

– 1/2 cup of cottage cheese

– 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

– 1 cup mozzarella cheese

– 1/4 cup whipping cream

– 2 tbsp olive oil

– Kosher Salt and Pepper

– 2 lbs of chicken boneless skin less cubed

– 1 pkg of mushrooms white or cremini sliced

What to do:

Turn the oven on and pre heat to 350.

Split your squash in 2.

IMG_1814IMG_1815

When split clean out the inside area with the seeds.

 

IMG_1817

 

On a cookie sheet place your squash insides out, drizzle with Olive Oil and season with Salt & Pepper. Place in the oven and bank for 1 hour or until squash is tender!

IMG_1819

 

When the squash is cooked. On the stove top in a large casserole dish I used my enamel dutch oven add some E.V.O.O.and your hot chili flakes. Turn on to med-high. Then add your cubed chicken brown for a few minutes then add your onions & garlic.

IMG_1820

When browned add the red pepper, mushroom

IMG_1821

Next add your can of tomato’s

IMG_1822

Now it’s time to clean out your spaghetti squash by taking a fork to the insides of the squash from top to bottom.

IMG_1823

Add this to your casserole dish or dutch oven.  Then add your cream, cheeses & cottage cheese. Mix together!

IMG_1825IMG_1826

Cover the top of the casserole with the mozzarella cheese!

IMG_1827

Put the dish in the oven at 350 with no cover for 30-45 minutes. Now it’s ready to serve!!

IMG_1833

Thanks for reading.. Next up Low Carb Cabbage Roll Soup!

Until next time Happy Cooking & Enjoy!!

I am open for requests or suggestions.. If you have an idea that you would like to see me blog about please email me at schoonerpixie@hotmail.com. I can also be found online on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/SchoonerpixiesKitchen.

Leave a comment