My take on cousin Nick’s Smoked Chop Chowder!!!!

8548115-still-life-of-six-wooden-spoon-with-white-background

 

“Smoked Chop Chowder”

 

So as I told you in my last blog I decided to try my own take on my cousin Nick’s Smoked Chopped Chowder. This is one of his original ideas and I thought it sounded too mouth watering not to try myseld.. and of course it turned out delicious!! I loved this dish because I got to take a trip to my favorite local meat market Meadowbrook Meat Market to purchase the smoked chops, something I had never tried before!

 

chicken curry 017chicken curry 018

What you will need:

  • 2 smoked chops cubed keep the bones
  • 1 can light evaporated milk
  • 1 carton of low sodium chicken stock
  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 med sized onions chopped
  • 3 cloves of minced garlic
  • 2 stalks of diced celery
  • 2 green onions
  • 1 package of mushrooms  sliced (cremini or white)
  • 1 med sized sweet potato peeled & cubed
  • 3 med sized yellow potatos peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 cup grated low fat old cheddar cheese, Nick uses a block of Velveeta, sounds delicous however I used the cheddar because I am still watching the calories and fat intake 🙂 So it’s up to you!!!

 

 Preheat the oven to 350. Turn burner onto 7, in an oven ready pot or roaster (I used my amazing dutch oven) Add  to the bottom of your pan some extra virgin olive oil, put in your cubed pork and bones fry until browned. When browned add your onions, celery and garlic. Add some of your stock enough to cover the meat and veggies.

chicken curry 019chicken curry 020

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover and bake in oven for 45 minutes to tenderize the meat. Next add your sweet potato, yellow potatos and mushrooms!

 

chicken curry 021chicken curry 023

Add the remaning stock, can of evaporate milk and water. On the stove at about 6 cover and cook until the veggies are tender, for about 30-45 minutes. Make sure it doesnt come to a boil or your milk will curdle, so if you need to turn it down do so just dont let it come to a boil.

smoked chop chowder & poppy seed dressing 001

 

When everything is tender, then add your cheese, let melt and sit for another 10-15 minutes. I forgot to add the green onion to mine but this is when I would do it. Season to taste with salt and pepper! This is another thing I have been meaning to tell you but I use Kosher salt, I have a bowl of it sitting on my counter. We use this because it is better for you and has the salt taste with out being iodized, it’s a more natural product!

This turned out awesome and I love that I got the idea from my cousin.. It’s an amazing that I will definitly make again! Hope you give it a try too!!

 

smoked chop chowder & poppy seed dressing 003

 

Next up I am going to show you how to make the most Amazing Poppyseed Dressing you have ever tried,

along with the most delicious, kicked up Spinach Salad.. Stay tuned, it’s coming soon!!

Any requests for a recipie you would like me to try pleae email me at schoonerpixie@hotmail.com

You can also join me on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/#!/SchoonerpixiesKitchen.

Until next time Enjoy & Happy Cooking!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

