Skillett Lasagna, easy and delicious

Valentine-Heart-Cover

Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone!!

 

I know it has been awhile since I posted last but life passes you by quickly and believe it or not sometimes this blog is not one of my top priorities… I do want to say that no I did not make this for my sweetheart for Valentines day but  I made this recipe last week for my boys and of course it was a big hit.. It is also a very healthy dish which for us is important to us!!  So here’e what you have been waiting for my recipie for:

“Homemade Skillett Lasagna”

 

  You will need:

  •  5 sticks of lasagna oven ready, smart pasta or whole wheat broken into pieces
  • 1 cup of fat free cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup of grated Skim Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1 jar of strained tomatoes (San Marzano’s are the best)
  • 1 med onion chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper chopped
  • 3 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1 lbs of lean ground beef
  • 1 tsp worstchestershier sauce
  • pinch of dried hot chili flakes
  • drop of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 tbsp Italian Seasoning

 

 Preheat the oven at 350. For this dish I used a cast iron pan and to finalize the dish I baked it in the oven in a foil pan, you dont need the foil pan however I had one on hand and didnt want the bother of washing 2 dishes.. hey I am normal who really likes doing dishes 😉

   Turn your skillet on med, add drop of extra virgin olive oil, add your ground beef, minced garlic, onion and red pepper.  Season with Salt & Pepper, worstchestershier sauce and italian seasoning and chili peppers.

   I know this may sound a little crazy but for those of you who are watching your weight, I cooked my beef first, then put it in a strainer and rinsed it under hot water to remove any excess fat.. it seems like work but it is easy and every little bit counts!!

Skillett Lasguana 005

Next add your bottle of jar of strained tomatoes.

washburn 004Skillett Lasguana 006

Now take this mixture and put into the larger pan if your frying pan can be used in the oven and holds alot there is no need to change the pan, as it is called “SKILLET” lasagna.

Once transfered to the second pan, add your lasagna noodles, then add the cottage cheese. Then Mix it up!!

 

Skillett Lasguana 007Skillett Lasguana 008

Cover with the half cup of skim mozzarella cheese. Bake in the oven for a half hour or until noodles are cooked through.

Now it time to eat & enjoy!!

Skillett Lasguana 009

 

Hope you enjoyed this recipe.. I will tell you it is alot easier than making the whole lasgana and alot healther for you! I have a couple of great recipies I am going to try next thanks to a visit with my family this weekend.. Curried Chicken and Smoked Chop Chowder coming up next… Still have yet to get any requests for me to try out any recipies but if you have any ideas please feel free to email me at schoonerpixie@hotmail.com

You can also find me on facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/#!/SchoonerpixiesKitchen

Until next time Enjoy & Happy Cooking!!!

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. barbeque said,

    February 15, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    I’m extremely inspired along with your writing talents as neatly as with the structure in your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it your self? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is rare to look a great weblog like this one these days..

    • February 15, 2013 at 5:08 pm

      Thank you I did customize it myself at no charge! I enjoy cooking and sharing it with you through blogging so I appreciate your feedback more than you know 🙂


Leave a Reply

