New to foodie blogging!!

Retro Rainbow facebook timeline cover 849 X 312 vintage,rainbow,Retro

         New Foodie does Toasted Donair Ravioli

“A maritime favorite with an Ammie Parsons twist”

Ready to eat & ENJOY!!

 So I am new to the blogging world. I myself have never blogged before and to be honest have only read a few blogs done by my friends that I know are REALLY funny. What inspired me to do so you ask? I have been thinking about this for about a month or so now after my friend Kelly and also my favorite server at my favorite restaraunt Kellock’s called my husband and I foodies. After cooking all weekend and posting MANY instagram photo’s on my facebook over the last few months of my husband John and I’s food creations and our many homecooked meals I figured a blog would be a great way to share my/our ideas with those of you that are interested. I also think sharing my experiences will motivate me to cook more and to try new recipes 🙂

 I was never really into to food other than your typical roasted chicken and pork dinners.. I also used to eat alot of processed foods and picked my way through most of the home cooked meals that I was faced with (sorry mom). I was super fussy so fussy I used to go as far as straining my salsa so I didnt have to deal with the tomatos. My husband and planting my own garden changed all that for me.. I am a whole new woman now, with an open mind. I am now eating just about every veggie under the sun, very minimal processed foods and alot of authentic foods including my most recent favorite.. Sushi!! Someday I plan on trying to make that and when I do I will share with you, I promise!

 So a few weeks ago after watching Diners Drive Ins & Dives and talking to our friends about maybe doing a cook off with the main ingredient being pork.. I came up with what turned out to be a delicious appetizer that will pull on the heart strings of any maritimer I call the “Toasted Donair Ravioli”

This is how it’s done!!

The first thing you need to make for this recipe is the Donair Sauce this needs to sit for at least a few hours and the longer it sits the better it tastes. I have made Donair Sauce alot and have it down to a tea. The key is when you make it, use regular canned milk, the low fat just doesnt sit right. If you are watching your weight this probably isn’t the best route to go!

You will need:

      2/3 cup canned milk
      2/3 cup sugar
      1/4 cup white vinegar
      1/2 tsp garlic freshley grated (you can use powder if you dont have the fresh garlic)

Directions

     Stir canned milk, sugar and garlic powder until sugar is dissolved let sit for a couple of minutes then stir again making sure all the sugar is dissolved. Stir hard add vinegar all at once, once it is added only 3-4 times. The quicker you add the vinegar and the less you mix, the thicker the sauce will be. Let sauce sit for at least 2 hours in refrigerator before using when you go to use it give it another good stir.  The key is if you stir it to much the milk will seperate from the vinegar! Follow this and it will turn out perfect and you can use it for this recipie and donairs, garlic fingers and donair pizza.. it also lasts for a week!!
     Of course I made the filling myself, I researched recipies and tweaked it to my own.. Here it is!

You will need:

  • 1  tsp salt
  • 1  tsp ground oregano
  • 1  tsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/2  tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2  tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2  tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2  tsp onion powder
  • 1/4  tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 pound ground beef
  • 1/2 pound ground pork

I let this sit wrapped in saran wrap overnight to let the meat absorb the flavors.

The next day I added:

  • 1/2 cup fresh cherry tomates (I removed the seeds and meat in the center to remove most of the water)
  • 1 grated medium onion
  • 1/2 FINELY chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup of Mozzarella Cheese

You will now need a package of wonton wrappers and egg wash.. I brushed the eggwash on with a paint brush and used a melon baller to measure the meat!

The start of something good!

The start of something good!

 Cover the filling over with another wonton wrapper and use the pressure of a fork to seal it off.. Make sure there isn’t to much filling, if there is they will explode in the deep fryer. Not a good scene!!

It's on it's way

It’s on it’s way

 Next you will need a bowl of egg wash and two plates with Italian bread crumbs on them. Dip the ravioli in the egg wash and put each side of the ravioli on each plate to make sure they are covered well!! Like this below….

We're getting closer!!

We’re getting closer!!

Last but not least it is time to deep fry, we don’t have a deep fryer for obvious reasons one being I would be as big as a house due to eating fresh cut fries once a day. For this I used a cast iron pan and about 2 cups of vegetable oil..Heat oil and Fry at about  5 for about 7 minutes turning over occassionally so the pork gets well cooked. Remove from oil and put on a plate with paper towel to absorb any access grease..

The finished and might I say delicious final product!

The finished product and might I say delicious!

 Put on a serving plate with the donair sauce and they are ready to serve!!! These are time consuming but are well worth it and are going to be hit with all of your friends and family! Good luck and most of all enjoy! 🙂

 So that is it, I have lost my blogging virginity.. I hope you all enjoyed and give this recipe a try!! If at first you don’t succeed you can always try again..

Next up our new creation ” The Apple Pork Pressed Panini”

Retro Rainbow facebook timeline cover 849 X 312 vintage,rainbow,Retro

1 Comment

  1. December 3, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Love it! Great theme, I enjoyed the turtles, lol! Can’t wait to try this recipe for my fam, thanks for posting Ammie, I’m adding you to my blog roll!!! Come visit mine, I post my crafts/diy’s from Pinterest n stuff there.
    candysmilecreates.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

